When you are injured on the job, it is crucial to take immediate action to protect yourself and your workers’ compensation claim. Any delay in seeking medical treatment, notifying your employer, or filing a claim could jeopardize your ability to secure the worker’s compensation benefits you might be eligible for.
You may need extensive medical care, such as hospitalization, surgery, or rehabilitation, which can take significant time and your financial resources. When this is the case, you rely of workers’ compensation to help you pay for your medical expenses and a portion of your lost wages while you are away from work. These benefits are often crucial for employees and their families, so don’t delay in taking the steps necessary to protect your workers’ compensation claim.
After any workplace accident, you must inform your supervisor of the accident and any injuries suffered by employees as soon as possible. It is best to put the notification down in writing to avoid any conflicts later about who was notified and when. If your injuries require emergency medical attention, make sure another employee alerts your supervisor and management, and file your written notice as soon as you are able.
Once your employer is notified, they will likely file your claim with their workers’ compensation carrier and will let you know which medical provider they or the insurance carrier have selected for you. If you’d like to visit a doctor of your choosing, you must request permission from your employer or the carrier first.
If your employer or the carrier denies your application for benefits, you will need to file additional paperwork about the accident and your injuries with the South Carolina Workers’ Compensation Commission. You will submit the document, Form 50 or Form 52, to describe the circumstances of your injury and explain that you are requesting workers’ compensation benefits.
Additionally, filing for workers’ compensation in South Carolina comes with numerous deadlines, which can impede your ability to receive compensation, if you do not act quickly after your accident. To ensure that your claim is successful, you must respect the statute of limitations for workers’ compensation. No matter whether you have an on-site work accident, or you have a work-related illness, you have a maximum amount of two years to file a workers’ compensation claim. Although this may seem like a long amount of time, you must report your injury to your employer within the first 90 days of the accident, to become eligible for a workers’ compensation claim. In the case of long-term illnesses or injuries from your work, these deadlines begin from the point in time when you first recognized health problems from your work.
If you or a loved one were injured at work, you need workers’ compensation to support you through your recovery. The attorneys at Hammack Law Firm are ready to fight for you, to ensure that you receive the compensation you deserve for your injuries. Contact Hammack Law Firm at 864-326-3333 to begin work on your case, as soon as possible.
Our Client Bill of Rights offers a 30-day unconditional satisfaction guarantee —no costs and no fees. We serve our Greenville clients in all areas of personal injury, including auto and motorcycle accidents, truck accidents, and boating accidents.
To get started with our Greenville personal injury law firm, please simply contact us online or call 864-326-3333 for a free consultation.