The circumstances of a collision in Greenville dictate whether or not you have to file a police report after a car accident. According to the South Carolina Code of Laws Unannotated §56-5-1260, a driver in a collision is required by law to file a police report if the car accident resulted in:
- Injury to anyone involved in the accident
- The death of anyone involved in the accident
Under these circumstances, the accident should be reported to the local police or to the South Carolina Highway Patrol immediately. Similarly, the South Carolina Code of Laws Unannotated §56-5-1270 requires written reports of all accidents that result in injuries, fatalities, or property damage of $1,000 or more. Verified and completed forms must be submitted to the Department of Motor Vehicles within 15 days of the accident.
Your Police Report Tells an Important Story
While a police report is not always required after a car accident, it can be a good idea to report your accident anyway because of the information and details it might contain. The legal team who represents you might first listen to your recollection of the accident. They might then glean details from the police report that support your claims, such as:
- Date, time, and location details, which also help define the statute of limitations
- Identification and contact information for each involved driver
- The approximate speed of each vehicle at the time of the collision
- The investigating police officer’s observations, notes, and diagrams
Your police report might also show where each vehicle was damaged, indicate the results of field sobriety tests, and refer to each involved vehicle by number, which can help point to each driver’s involvement.
For a free legal consultation, call 864-326-3333
Your Police Report Can Validate the Extent of Your Injuries
Your official police report has multiple uses. Your police report might also have notes that point to the cause and probable extent of your injuries, including:
- Where you were seated in the car
- Where its damage occurred
- Whether you were ejected from the car
- Whether you required ambulance transportation
Along with your emergency and ongoing health care records, your crash report might help substantiate the injuries you suffered.
Medical Records May Supplement Your Police Report
Your personal injury lawyer may request many forms of evidence in addition to your police report. They might ask for your medical records and bills, injury photos, and any other form of evidence that bolsters and supports your compensation claim.
Like your police report, your medical records and bills tell a part of the accident story. Your lawyer might use your medical records and bills to prove:
- The cost of treating your injuries
- Whether your injuries might have forced you to miss work
- Your recovery prognosis and anticipated timeline
Your medical documents might also help your lawyer and the at-fault driver understand what costs you might incur in the future to treat your injuries. These costs, too, might be included in your claim for compensation.
Click to contact our personal injury lawyers today
You Might Be Able to Recover Your Damages After a Car Accident
Using your police report and medical records, your personal injury team may help you estimate the value of your injuries and their related expenses. You might be able to recover the following damages:
- Medical expenses
- Costs for rehabilitation services
- Income loss
- Costs for domestic assistance
- Pain and suffering
- Mental anguish
- Emotional distress
Accurately valuing your case is key if you intend to seek financial compensation to recover your damages. Your legal team can work with you to ensure your claim is correctly valued before starting any settlement negotiations with the at-fault party or their insurance company.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Bring Your Police Report to Us
If you or someone you love was injured in a car accident, our warm, supportive team might be able to help you receive financial compensation from the at-fault driver. Our firm is customer-focused, and our Google reviews show it. We offer a small firm feel with a big firm experience because we want to treat you like family while we fight hard for your financial recovery.
You have to file a police report after a car accident if anyone was injured or fatally injured. Bring a copy of your crash report to our team today. It might contain information we can use to help you pursue financial compensation. Contact a personal injury team member at Hammack Law Firm by calling (864) 326-3333 today.