Do I Have a Workers’ Compensation Claim? Greenville Injury Attorney Has the Answer
An injury at work is more than a painful inconvenience. On-the-job accidents can cause permanent disabilities and disfigurement. Medical bills can cost a fortune, and some workers cannot return to their lifelong professions. Two thirds of a paycheck makes it difficult to support a single person, let alone a family. Often, an employee is forced to return to work because they need to put food on their table. Even if an employer does the right thing and pays for medical treatment and a portion of the salary, often the employer never offers to compensate injured workers for their permanent disability.
Sadly, these scenarios are far too common. According to theOccupational Safety and Health Administration, more than 92 workers died every week in 2014. If that number sounds low, consider the fact that it adds up to 4,821 job-related fatalities in a single year – and thousands more suffered debilitating injuries.
LEARN MORE ABOUT YOUR LEGAL RIGHTS.
Contact personal injury attorney Paul Hammack, Greenville, SC
Fortunately, almost every employee in South Carolina is covered by the state’s Workers’ Compensation Act. There are, however, a few exceptions such as:
Elected corporate officers;
Some real estate salespeople;
Some casual employees;
Businesses with fewer than four employees; and
Even if you are covered by workers’ compensation, it is not always easy to obtain the funds you need to pay for medical expenses and lost income. Paul Hammack ofHammack Law Firmwill evaluate your case and help you fight for the maximum compensation.
What If I Was Partially At-Fault for the Accident or Injuries?
South Carolina has “no fault” workers’ compensation laws. As such, an employee can file for benefits even if he or she was partially at-fault for the accident or injuries. In exchange, the employee is not able to recover pain and suffering – only for their permanent disability.
If your claim is successful, you may be entitled to compensation for medical care, lost wages while you are temporarily disabled, and payments for permanent disability or disfigurement.
If you were injured on the job and you could not work for seven days or more, then you will be entitled to 66 2/3% of your average weekly income. If you cannot work for 7 days or more, then you are eligible for compensation starting on the date of your injury. However, you can only receive compensation under workers’ comp for a maximum of 500 weeks. That limit applies to total disability and death if your family member died as a result of a work-related injury. Most injuries only affect a single body part, such as a back or shoulder, which only pay 300 weeks. Trust me… very few employers will pay you what you are due without hiring an attorney. They just don’t take you seriously or believe that you will just go away.
What Is the Most Dangerous Industry in the United States?
According to theBureau of Labor Statistics, construction is the deadliest industry sector – with 874 fatalities in 2014. This was closely followed by transportation and warehousing (735 deaths).
According to OSHA, the four most dangerous hazards on construction sites – called the “Fatal Four” – are:
Struck by Object Accidents; and
YOU HAVE RIGHTS! LET US GO FIGHT FOR THEM.
If you sustained an injury while working in South Carolina, contact Hammack Law Firm. It is not uncommon for employers to put their interests before those of their employees. If you were injured on the job, Paul Hammack and his team will represent your interests and help you pursue fair compensation.
If you received an unfair settlement offer, Mr. Hammack can help you arrange a hearing to argue your claim. He can also help you appeal the decision of the Workers’ Compensation Commission if your claim is denied. Remember, you only have 90 days to notify your employer of your injury and two years to file your claim. Don’t let your claim slip away and be stuck with future medical needs. Don’t panic! Call Hammack.
Have questions? Let Us Call You
About Your Case
Our Client Bill of Rights offers a 30-day unconditional satisfaction guarantee —no costs and no fees. We serve our Greenville clients in all areas of personal injury, including auto and motorcycle accidents, truck accidents, and boating accidents.
To get started with our Greenville personal injury law firm, please simply contact us online or call 864-326-3333 for a free consultation.