Businesses that Sell Alcohol in SC Are Now Required to Carry Liability Insurance

Injured? We can help you.

Let's go get your money
A new law that took effect on July 1, 2017 in the state of South Carolina recognized as the Dram Shop Law requires businesses that serve alcohol to carry liability insurance. Any business that sells alcohol on their premises after 5:00 p.m. carrying a license issued by the South Carolina Department of Revenue is required to purchase a liquor liability policy. This policy must include a minimum of $1 million in coverage according to Fox Carolina. The law was implemented in the state nearly three years after a Dillon police officer was hit by a drunk driver who was over-served at a nightclub. Businesses that Sell Alcohol in SC Are Now Required to Carry Liability Insurance The officer, who was hit by the intoxicated motorist, was left paralyzed and now suffers from permanent brain damage. While the nightclub had no policy in effect, the liability was passed onto the city of Dillon and the officer received more than $1 million from the city for the care he needed to have rendered. Had the establishment been insured at the time, they too would have been required to provide compensation to the unfortunate victim. If you were recently involved in an auto accident in Greensville, SC with an intoxicated driver, you may be able to collect compensation for your injuries from multiple parties. The personal injury lawyers at Hammack Law Firm are capable and qualified to help get you adequate compensation from all the parties that contributed to your accident occurring. Liable parties can sometimes be difficult to identify and collecting the necessary proof can also be a bit of a challenge.

How can the Dram Shop law help individuals who are involved in a drunk driving accident?

According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), “approximately one-third of all traffic crash fatalities in the United States involve drunk drivers with BAC levels of .08 or higher.” In 2016, one person was killed every 50 minutes in a drunk driving accident. Aside from the accidents that result in death, many of them end with victims suffering from life-altering injuries such as deformities, disabilities, and more.

While a drunk driving accident victim could once only hold the driver themselves accountable for causing a vehicular accident, now, the bar, restaurant, or other establishment that served the alcohol may share some of the accountability as the servers and bartenders should be monitoring the limit of alcohol a person is consuming to ensure they aren’t over-doing it.

Our Client Bill of Rights offers a 30-day unconditional satisfaction guarantee —no costs and no fees. We serve our Greenville clients in all areas of personal injury, including auto and motorcycle accidents, truck accidents, and boating accidents.

To get started with our Greenville personal injury law firm, please simply contact us online or call 864-326-3333 for a free consultation.

Let's go get your money