Most employees in South Carolina are covered by the state’s Workers’ Compensation Act. If you sustain an injury or illness while performing a work-related duty, then you may be entitled to compensation for:
- Medical care;
- Lost wages while you are temporarily disabled; and
- Payments for permanent disability and disfigurement.
Unfortunately, insurance companies use multiple strategies to deny or undervalue claims. You might have difficulty recovering fair compensation if one or more of the following are true:
- You did not report your injury to your employer within 90 days of the accident;
- You made your claim after the two-year statute of limitations expired;
- The accident report does not correlate with the medical report;
- There were no eyewitnesses;
- You went to a doctor who was not approved by your employer or its workers’ compensation insurer;
- You did not visit a doctor after the injury;
- You failed a drug test after the accident;
- Your employer argues that the injury was not caused while performing a work-related task; or
- You did not follow your doctor’s instructions.
If your workers’ compensation claim was denied or if your employer stopped paying your temporary disability benefits, contact Hammack Law Firm. Paul Hammack will evaluate your case and help you fight for the maximum compensation.
Mr. Hammack has more than 17 years of experience as a successful injury litigator. Call 864-326-3333 to arrange a free consultation with a personal-injury attorney in Greenville, South Carolina.
Read on to learn five tips to help you make a successful workers’ compensation claim:
- Report the Injury or Illness Immediately
Pursuant to SECTION 42-15-20 of the South Carolina Code of Laws, you will not be able to recover workers’ compensation benefits unless you report your injury or illness within 90 days of the date it occurred, or in the case of repetitive trauma, when the injury or illness should have been reasonably discovered.
As such, you should report your injury to your employer as soon as possible. Notify your employer in writing so you have proof that you reported the injury within 90 days.
- If Possible, Take Photos of the Hazard That Caused Your Injury
Pictures of your injury and the hazard that caused them will be valuable evidence if your employer tries to argue that your injury did not happen at work. Photos are particularly important when there are no eyewitnesses.
- Hire a Personal-Injury Attorney
In our experience, most employers will not pay injured workers fair compensation unless they hire an attorney. Otherwise, your employer might not take you seriously or believe that you will just go away.
- Visit a Doctor
If you do not visit a doctor immediately after your injury, then it may be difficult to tie your injury to the accident. Doctors’ records will also be necessary to prove the severity of your condition and the cost of medical treatment.
- Investigate Your Treatment Options
In the state of South Carolina, workers’ compensation claimants must be treated by a doctor that has been approved by their employers or their workers’ compensation insurer. If you do not visit an approved doctor, then your benefits may be denied.
If you were injured on the job, turn to Hammack Law Firm. Call 864-326-3333 to schedule a free initial consultation with an accident lawyer in Greenville, South Carolina.
Paul Hammack has over 17 years’ experience as a trial attorney. He worked for insurance companies for 15 of those years so he has the knowledge and experience to get the most out of your workers’ compensation or personal injury claim. Unlike most big box firms, Paul is not afraid of taking a case to trial. If you are hurt on the job or by someone else’s negligence we want to help. Better call Paul! Hammacklawfirm.com.